D. Lloyd Monroe Rated 'AV' by Martindale-Hubbel

D. Lloyd Monroe

Of Counsel

Mr. Monroe joined the firm as a shareholder in 1993. He has practiced law in Florida for over 20 years.  In 2005 Mr. Monroe transitioned to Of Counsel status with the firm.

Practice Areas & Industry Experience:

Mr. Monroe has extensive experience in civil trial litigation. He has represented numerous public and private sector clients on issues involving Law Enforcement Liability, Wrongful Death, Civil Rights Defense, School Board Defense, Government Defense, Insurance Defense, Employment Litigation, Title VII Discrimination, Professional Malpractice, and other claims.

Awards & Associations:

Following graduation Mr. Monroe served as a law clerk to the Honorable Winston E. Arnow, Senior United States District Judge for the Northern District of Florida. Mr. Monroe is a member of numerous local and national bar associations (including the Defense Research Institute and Florida Defense Lawyer's Association-Past Chair, Employment Law Committee). Mr. Monroe is a charter member of the Tallahassee Chapter of the American Board of Trial Advocates (ABOTA).


Mr. Monroe received his undergraduate degree from Florida State University, magna cum laude, and was a member of the Phi Beta Kappa scholastic honorary society. He received his J.D. degree from Florida State University, with High Honors, and was selected for the Order of the Coif.

Community Service:

On August 1, 2005, Mr. Monroe transitioned to Of Counsel status in the firm and currently serves as a principal in the Porch de Salomon ministry in Panajachel, Guatemala.

"The Guatemalan city of Panajachel, population 15,000, has attracted a large number of expatriate North Americans — some of whom suffer from drug and alcohol addictions. The city is also home to indigenous Mayans, many of them dirt poor, who speak more than 20 different languages." Read full article


Mr. Monroe is admitted to practice in the United States District Court, Northern and Middle Districts of Florida, the United States Court of Appeals, Eleventh Circuit, and the United States Supreme Court.